Full name: The Republic of Senegal
Area: 196,722 km²
Capital: Dakar
Population: 14.8 million (2016)


Senegal’s colonial experience (1886-1960)1 has shaped the state’s post-colonial institutions and laws. The constitutional regime, the judicial system and the state legislation have all drawn on the French model.

The judicial system in Senegal is based on the French civil code. Under Article 88 of the Constitution, the judicial branch consists of the Conseil Constitutionnel, the Conseil d’Etat, the Cour de Cassation, the Cour des Comptes and the Courts and Tribunals. The Conseil Constitutionnel has jurisdiction over the legality of laws passed by parliament. It is comprised of five judges, all of whom are appointed by the president. The Cour de Cassation is the highest court for civil and criminal matters while the Conseil d’Etat is the highest court for administrative law matters.

It should be noted that though Islamic and traditional laws are generally not officially incorporated into the Senegalese judicial system, principles from such law are still strongly influential.

For more information on the legal system of Senegal please visit


Partners Events Date
Ministry of Justice A delegation from CWAG AAP visited the Ministry of Justice.

CWAG AAP discussed the interest on the part of CWAG AAP Attorneys General in establishing a relationship of mutual exchange of experiences and support, which was received with great interest

CWAG AAP and the Ministry of Justice and AttorneyGeneral’s Department are in the process of formalising and programming activities to be celebrated in 2018.

May 2017